Lesvos belongs to the islands of the Eastern Aegean Sea and is the third – in terms of size – island of Greece, after Crete and Evia. Its geographical area is close to 1,630 sq km, with a coastline of 370 km.

It is located at the entrance of the Adramyti Gulf and is approximately 5 to 8 nautical miles from the Asia Minor coast. It belongs to the Prefecture of Lesvos, which also includes the islands of Limnos, Agios Efstratios and small rocky islands in the area.

There are two Gulfs – Gera and Kalloni – while a multitude of bays and headlands are formed around the perimeter, morphological elements that give the peculiar shape of the island. There are no particularly extensive plains, while the most important – in terms of area and productivity – are those of Kalloni, Ippeiou, Perama and Eresos.

In various parts of the mountain complex there are streams that flow through the plains, such as Tsiknias to the north, Tsichliotas to the west, Mylopotamos in the center and Sedoundas and Almyropotamos to the south.

Western Lesbos, compared to the rest of the island, is barren, with the exception of small plains, while the eastern and central parts are overgrown with olive groves (approximately 11,000,000 olive trees), pines, firs, plane trees, chestnuts, beeches and oaks .

Also, the Lesbian countryside is covered with myrtles, laurels, and other shrubby plants, as well as a huge variety of aromatic plants and herbs. In general, the flora of Lesvos is extremely rich.

From a climatic point of view, Lesbos has a mild, Mediterranean climate, with lots of sunshine throughout the year. Rainfall – with a maximum recorded in December and a minimum in July – contributes positively to soil fertility.

The winter is mild, with rare snowfalls – with the exception of the mountains – while winds are present throughout the year, peaking during the July-August period, the so-called “Aegean Meltemia” period.

The population of Lesvos amounts to approximately 100,000 inhabitants and Mytilini is the capital of the island, as well as the administrative center-headquarters of the Prefectural Self-Government of Lesvos, the Ministry of the Aegean, the North Aegean Region and the University of the Aegean.

Lesbos includes a total of 13 municipalities: Agiasos, Agia Paraskevi, Geras, Eresos, Euergetoulas, Kallonis, Loutropoleos Thermis, Mandamados, Mithymna, Mytilini, Petra, Plomariou and Polichnitou.

The sweet ouzo, the virgin olive oil, produced from the blessed fruit of the earth, the olive, which is found on every slope, in every part of the island and the locals collect it with great effort.

The dairy products and especially the famous Ladotiri, which are known in all corners of our country, and slowly in all the countries of Europe.

Let’s also not forget the products produced by the various cooperatives of the island, such as pasta, sweets, liqueurs, etc.

Lesvos is the ideal island that combines mountain and sea. Calm and intense life. It is the ideal destination for those who have a family, but also for those who like a more solitary life and adventure.

You are given the opportunity to engage in a multitude of water sports, enjoy the sun and relax lying on a beach.

For those who love birds, dozens of rare already migratory and non-migratory birds invite you to admire them. Already rare plants and flowers, as well as types of amphibians live and grow in almost all areas of the island.

Don’t waste time! Start now to come to the beautiful island of Lesvos. We are waiting for you.